Recipients of the Honorary Freedom of the City of Liverpool

7th July 1886 Lieut. General Sir Andrew Clarke GCMG CB CIE
9th November 1889 Sir Andrew Barclay Walker Bt DL
7th January 1891 William Cliff Esq. JP
3rd June 1891 William Rathbone Esq. MP JP DL
3rd June 1891 Henry Tate Esq. JP
5th October 1892 The Rt. Hon. William Ewart Gladstone MP First Lord of the Treasury
14th February 1894 Samuel Greg Rathbone Esq. JP
27th October 1897 Alderman Thomas Hughes JP
17th January 1900 John Brancker Esq. JP
24th April 1901 Benn Wolfe Levy Esq.
24th April 1901 Henry Yates Thomson Esq.
24th April 1901 Field Marshal Frederick Sleigh Roberts, 1st Earl Roberts Bart VC KG KP GCB OM GCSI GCIE KStJ VD PC
4th June 1902 Alderman Sir William Bower Forwood, DL JP
6th August 1902 General Viscount Kitchener, GCB OM GCMG
3rd February 1904 The Right Hon. Frederick Arthur, Earl of Derby, KG
3rd February 1904 Robert Durning Holt, Esq. JP DL
3rd August 1911 Andrew Carnegie, Esq. LL.D
3rd August 1911 Robert Gladstone, Esq. LL.D
3rd July 1912 The Right Hon. Edward George Villiers, Earl of Derby, PC CB GCVO
19th March 1016 The Right Hon. William Morris Hughes
6th September 1916 Alderman Sir William Benjamin Bowring Bart JP
6th June 1917 Alderman Sir Charles Petrie,JP
4th December 1918 Admiral Sir David Beatty, GCB GCVO DSO Commander-in-Chief of the Grand Fleet
4th December 1918 Field Marshall Sir Douglas Haig, KT GCB GCVO KCIE Commander-in Chief of the British Armies in France
7th December 1921 John Rankin, Esq. LL.D
2nd September 1925 Alderman The Right Hon. Sir Archibald Tutton Salvidge, PC KBE
24th September 1934 Alderman Sir Thomas White
24th September 1934 Alderman Sir James Sexton, CBE
24th September 1934 Councillor Sir Frederick Charles Bowring, DL
1st May 1946 The Right Hon. Lord Woolton, PC CH DL
1st May 1946 Admiral Sir Max Kennedy Horton, GCB DSO
1st May 1946 Alderman Alfred Ernest Shennan, JP MA
1st May 1946 Alderman Luke Hogan, MBE JP
1st May 1946 Alderman Sir Charles Sydney Jones, JP MA LL.D
25th February 1970 The Right Hon. The Lord Cohen of Birkenhead, MD FRCP (LOND) FRCS (ENG) DL
25th February 1970 Major Sir Arthur Harold Bibby, Bart DSO
25th February 1970 Alderman Sir Joseph Jackson Cleary
25th February 1970 Sir Alan Cecil Tod, CBE TD
25th February 1970 Mrs Elizabeth Margaret Braddock, MP
25th February 1970 Mr John Moores
27th July 1983 Mr Robert Paisley, OBE
7th March 1984 John Lennon
7th March 1984 George Harrison, MBE
7th March 1984 Sir Paul McCartney, MBE
7th March 1984 Richard Starkey, MBE
13th March 1991 Eric S Heffer, MP
16th March 1994 John Moores, CBE DL
6th July 1994 President Nelson Mandela
24th August 1994 David Sheppard, The Rt. Reverend The Lord Bishop of Liverpool
24th August 1994 Derek Worlock, The Most Rev The Archbishop of Liverpool
24th August 1994 Roy Castle OBE
31st January 2001 Ken Dodd OBE
31st January 2001 Adrian Henri
31st January 2001 Roger McGough OBE
31st January 2001 Brian Patten
31st January 2001 Sir Terry Leahy
31st January 2001 Simon Weston OBE
31st January 2001 Sir Simon Rattle KBE CBE
11th June 2003 Professor E Rex Makin
28th January 2009 Gerry Marsden MBE
28th January 2009 Norah Button
28th January 2009 Wally Brown CBE
3rd March 2010 Professor Peter Toyne CBE
18th January 2012 Stephen Yip MBE
7th March 2012 The Right Hon. Lord Michael Heseltine Bart CH PC
11th June 2014 Ricky Tomlinson
25th May 2016 96 who went to a football match but never returned (Hillsborough)
25th May 2016 The Right Reverend Bishop James Jones KBE
25th May 2016 Kenneth Mathieson Dalglish MBE
25th May 2016 Marina Dalglish MBE
25th May 2016 Professor Phil Scraton
18th January 2017 Tony McGann MBE
18th January 2017 Steven Gerrard MBE